antalya escort
unlu medyumlar
maltepe escort
rolex replica
beylikduzu escort
gaziantep escort
kartal escort
antalya escort
izmir escort
About the Society Awards Past Award Winners 2017 Awardees 2017 (Gregory Award) Hans-Dieter Sues

Hans-Dieter (Hans) Sues is Senior Scientist and Chair of the Department of Paleobiology at the National Museum of Natural History in Washington, DC. He has served SVP as Vice President and President, on numerous committees, and as editor of the Society’s flagship publications.

After undergraduate work at Johannes Gutenberg-Universit√§t in Mainz (Germany), Hans received an M.Sc. in geology from the University of Alberta and an M.A. and Ph.D. in biology from Harvard University. Following postdoctoral research at McGill University and at the National Museum of Natural History, he joined the staff of the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto in 1992. Concurrently, Hans taught in the Department of Zoology and at Trinity College of the University of Toronto.  

A graduate of the Getty’s Museum Management Institute (2000), Hans served as Vice President for Collections and Research at the Royal Ontario Museum from 1999 to 2002 and as Associate Director for Science and Collections at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History in Pittsburgh from 2002 to 2004. From 2004 to 2009, Hans was Associate Director for Research and Collections at the National Museum of Natural History.

Hans is interested in the evolutionary morphology, phylogeny, and paleobiology of late Paleozoic and Mesozoic tetrapods. He has done extensive fieldwork, especially in various regions of North America, Europe, and Central Asia. To date Hans has authored or co-authored one book and more than 150 peer-reviewed articles and book chapters. He has also edited several professional books and journals.

Hans was a member of the Committee for Research and Exploration of the National Geographic Society from 1997 to 2005 and served on the Board of Directors for the Natural Sciences Collections Alliance from 2001 to 2009. He was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1998) and Fellow of The Royal Society of Canada (2003). In 2010, Hans received an Award for Excellence in Research and Teaching from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.