antalya escort
unlu medyumlar
maltepe escort
rolex replica
beylikduzu escort
gaziantep escort
kartal escort
antalya escort
izmir escort
About the Society Awards Past Award Winners 2005 Awardees 2005 (Gregory Award) Louis L. Jacobs

Jacobs Louis L. Jacobs is Professor of Geological Sciences and President of the Institute for the Study of Earth and Man at Southern Methodist University in Dallas. Louis has served the SVP as its Vice-President and President. In addition, he has been chair or member of its Development, Bryan Patterson, Honorary Membership, and Nominating committees. He co-founded the SVP-affiliated Save America's Fossils for Everyone. He is the founder of The Saurus Institute, which has supported the research of a number of graduate students.

Louis began his career in geology in an offshore seismograph crew in the Gulf of Mexico. A year later he served a short stint in the merchant marine. He received his PhD in geology from the University of Arizona in 1977. Before joining the SMU faculty, he was Research Paleontologist at the Museum of Northern Arizona and then Head of the Division of Paleontology at the National Museums of Kenya. He has conducted extensive field research in Pakistan, Mexico, Kenya, Cameroon, Malawi, Yemen, Israel, and Mozambique, as well as Texas and other parts of the United States. His current field efforts are focused in Angola and Alaska. His research interests lie in all vertebrates and how they can be used to decipher life and Earth history.

Louis serves on the boards of directors of the Botanical Research Institute of Texas and the Jurassic Park Foundation and he is a trustee of The Edwin H. Colbert Paleontological Library Trust. He was formerly a board member of The Dinosaur Society and of the Museum of Northern Arizona. In 1999 he served as Director ad interim of the Dallas Museum of Natural History. He is Honorary and Charter Member of the Dallas Paleontological Society and one of its professional advisors. In 1998, he was awarded a lifetime membership in the Texas Earth Science Teachers Association. He has received a number of university awards in addition to the Edwin H. Colbert Award for his book Quest for the African Dinosaurs and recognition by joint resolution of the Texas legislature for his book Lone Star Dinosaurs.

Photo courtesy of Louis L. Jacobs.