Home > Awards > Awards Page


Awards are presented at the SVP annual meeting.  Applications for 2013 will be accepted beginning early February 2013. Click on each individual award below for more detailed information.

Deadline for 2013 Award Applications is April 22nd at 12:00pm (noon) eastern with the exception of Romer and Colbert which is April 2nd (see abstract submission information).

Colbert Prize
Best Student Poster
Dawson Grant

Promotes professional career in vertebrate Paleontology
Estes Memorial
Graduate Research in Non-Mammalian Paleontology
Patterson Memorial
Student Fieldwork in Vertebrate Paleonology

To advance preparation and preparators

Scientists from Economically
Developing Nations

 The Program for Scientists from Economically Developing Nations enables scientists from nations with developing economies to present research at the SVP Annual Meeting
Romer Prize  
Best student presentation
Romer-Simpson Medal  
Lifetime Achievment in th field of Vertebrate Paleontoloty
Skinner Award
Contributions to science through the collection of fossil vertebrates 
Wood Award  
  Supports student research that involves museum and university vertebrate fossil and/or natural history collections
Taylor & Francis Award
Best Student Article in the Journal of Vertebrate Paleontology for the best student first-authored paper published in the JVP
Gregory Award
Outstanding service to the welfare of the Society
Honorary Membership Award
Distinguished contribution to the field of vertebrate paleontology
Institutional Membership A Program for Institutions of Developing Nations — to increase access to electronic-based publications and news of the Society of Vertebrate Paleontology (SVP) for institutions based in areas with developing economies. 
Student Member Travel
Jackson School of Geosciences Student Member
Travel Grant to encourage student participation in the Society of Vertebrate Paleontology annual meeting.
Lanzendorf PaleoArt Prize
Outstanding achievement in paleontological illustration and art 

View Past Award Winners