Call for Symposia Proposals

The Program Committee for the SVP 75th Annual Meeting, October 14 - 17, 2015, at the Hyatt Regency Dallas, hosted by the Perot Museum of Nature and Science and Southern Methodist University, is caling for symposia proposals.

Proposals should include: a concise description of the symposium topic including its significance and specific relevance to the particular meeting time and location (if appropriate), and a list of speakeers and preliminary titles.  Symposia are two and a half hours or four hours in duration and must include either 10 or 16 presentation slots respectively (all presentations must be limited to 12 minutes each allowing 3 minutes for questions and discussions).  This presentation time format will also apply to all other oral presentations (technical and Romer).  Five or six poster presentations are also welcome.  Proposals should not exceed two pags in length.

As for the technical sessions, all abstracts submitted for the symposia are rigorously reviewed by the Program Committee and subject to rejection.  To avoid empty slots in the program, the symposium organizers will be encouraged to pre-review abstracts prior to submission.

Sample Symposia text can be viewed at http://vertpaleo.org/PDFS/99/99187476-f611-4005-8ff6-9a88d03e48ce.pdf.  Please send proposals to SVP Program co-chairs, David Evans at d.evans@utoronto.ca and Mary Silcox at msilcox@utsc.utoronto.caThe deadline for proposal submision is December 15, 2014.

Acceptance of a Symposium Proposal does not guarantee acceptance of all included abstracts.  Some abstracts submitted in association with a symposium may be accepted for a poster rather than a talk, or, on rare occasions, be rejected by the Program Committee.


SVP 2015 Call for Poster Symposia

The Program Committee for the SVP 75th Annual Meeting, October 14 – 17, 2015, at the Hyatt Regency Dallas, hosted by the Perot Museum of Nature and Science, is calling for Poster Symposium proposals.

 

For the 2015 SVP Annual Meeting, the program committee has decided to try an exciting new poster symposium initiative.  The idea is to have a set of 10-20 topically related posters shown together.  Poster Symposia provide the potential for unifying work that would not normally be exhibited together (e.g., posters on the same time period or from the same locality/geological unit but about different taxonomic groups; projects that use related analytical methods but on different types of animals, etc.).  Based on our experiences at other conferences, Poster Symposia can provide an extremely valuable opportunity for synergy between related work, and positive interaction between the authors of related projects and the broader SVP audience. The posters displayed as part of an SVP Poster Symposium will be left up for the entire meeting, allowing for an extended period of discussion and debate.

 

SVP Poster Symposium Proposals should include:

1) a concise (1 page, single-spaced maximum) description of the symposium topic including its significance and specific relevance to the particular meeting time and location (if appropriate),

2) a list of authors and preliminary titles.  A minimum of 8 titles are required for a given submission to be considered.  Because of the flexible nature of poster symposia, it will be possible to add additional titles to the symposium when abstracts are submitted.

 

Please send proposals to SVP Program co-chairs: David Evans at d.evans@utoronto.ca and Mary Silcox at msilcox@utsc.utoronto.ca. The deadline for proposal submission for SVP Poster Symposia is December 15, 2014. Acceptance of a Poster Symposium proposal does not guarantee acceptance of all included abstracts. As for the technical sessions, all abstracts submitted for the symposia are rigorously reviewed by the Program Committee and subject to rejection.

 

David Evans and Mary Silcox

SVP Program Committee Co-Chairs

 

SVP Program Committee

If you have questions regarding the program, your presentation or abstract, check the SVP website or contact the SVP Program Co-Chairs:

 

Dave Evans, Co-Chair
Royal Ontario Museum, Canada
d.evans@utoronto.ca

 

Mary Silcox, Co-Chair
University of Toronto, Canada
msilcox@utsc.utoronto.ca



Heather Ahrens
Johns Hopkins, USA
hahrens1@jhmi.edu
Marc Jones
The University of Adelaide, Australia
marc.jones@adelaide.edu.au
Brian Beatty
New York College of Osteopath Medicine, USA
bbeatty@nyit.edu
Christian Kammerer
Museum Für Naturkunde,
Germany
christian.kammerer@mfn-berlin.de
Jonathan Bloch
Florida Museum of Natural History
jbloch@flmnh.ufl.edu
Erin Maxwell
University of Alberta, Canada
emaxwell@ualberta.ca
Dr. Martin Brazeau
Imperial College London
m.brazeau@imperial.ac.uk
Josh Miller
University of Cincinnati, USA
josh.miller@uc.ed
Chris Brochu
University of Iowa, USA
chris-brochu@uiowa.edu
Jessica Miller-Camp
University of Iowa, USA
jessica-camp@uiowa.edu
Richard Butler
University of Birmingham, UK
butler.richard.j@gmail. com
Kevin Padian
University of California, USA
kpadian@berkeley.edu
Dr. Darin Croft
Case Western Reserve University
dac34@case.edu
Lauren Sallan
University of Michigan, USA
lsallan@umich.edu
Ted Daeschler
Acacdemy of Natural Sciences, USA
daeschler@ansp.org
William Sanders
University of Michigan, USA
wsanders@umich.edu
David Fox
University of Minnesota, USA
dlfox@umn.edu
Michelle Stocker
Virginia Polytechnic Institute, USA
stockerm@vt.edu
Anjali Goswami
Univeristy College London
a.goswami@ucl.ac.uk
Paul Upchruch
University College London, UK
p.upchurch@ucl.ac.uk
Pat Holroyd
University of California, USA
pholroyd@berkeley.edu
 Aaron Wood
Florida Musuem of Natural History, USA
awood@flmnh.ufl.edu

 

For further information please contact the SVP Meeting Management office at meetings@vertpaleo.org.

The Society of Vertebrate Paleontology is a non-profit organization dedicated to professional vertebrate paleontology. Please view our policy page here.
© The Society of Vertebrate Paleontology.
Questions about the Web site? Contact the editor